Please let us know what you think of Amangwane and Kosi Bay by commenting below.

Were you amazed by the beauty of our heritage site – the iSimangaliso Wetland park?
What were the best bits, what do you miss?

‘Like’ us on Facebook
‘Follow’ us on Twitter

Greenty blog

76 thoughts on “Reviews

    • Hi Catherine,
      I hope you and Michael enjoyed your stay at Amagwane. If you have any photos or stories you’d like to add to the webpage please contact me.
      Warm regards,

  1. We visited Amangwane in January 2010 and are pleased to see your new website. Elmon was an excellent host, telling us stories around the camp fire and showing us how to catch fish in his trap. One word of warning: if you go snorkelling (and it’s a must) make sure you have plenty of waterproof sunscreen!

  2. Emma check out the South Africa forum from September 14th, under the heading trip report july august 2010 by Caviar in Geneva, that’s me!
    I also tried to write a review under “hotels” but Trip Advisor wouln’t take the review because they don’t have Amangwane in their data base! They said they’d check you out and then let me publish the review, so I’ll try again!
    Good day to all of you from Geneva

  3. Hello to all!
    I am delighted to let you know that our review of the Amangwane camp will be published by Trip Advisor in the next 48 hours!
    We sincerely hope that it will encourage other travellers to discover this amazing place…and I will answer any questions that you might have concerning our stay there…
    Here’s to you, Emma!

  4. Stayed:
    30/12/2010 – 02/01/2011
    Much better than we expected: the landscape, the estuary, the beach, the reef and ‘the things we normally have to be killed for’… Thank you for the perfect warm hospitality.

  5. I received this email from a guest:

    Happy new year. We had a great time up in kosi bay with Nicky, she made us feel really welcome and it was an amazing setting for Christmas!


  6. We had a wonderful time here – thank you so much for everything – like driving us to the beach 10 times a day and things like that! :)
    Highlight was the spear fishing – I was so excited we caught some!! 😀
    The meals were all very nice, we especially enjoyed the “chakalaka” -thing-!
    We enjoyed the evenings on the campsite listening to everyones funny stories (toilets in greece…).
    We’ll come back one day! :)
    Thank you!!!

  7. Thank you / Syabonga / Dankie for…
    – the warm welcome
    – the lekker food
    – the cold drinks, when ever we needed one (which was quite often) :)
    Keep well and stay as you are!

  8. We almost had the whole place just for us, and we felt just like at home. Thank you very much for your tailor-made welcome and see you soon for sure! We’ll be back! :)

  9. 28/3/2011 – 31/3/2011
    We enjoyed your cosy place so much – it was fun walking with you, going kayaking and also a big thank you for the food – it was delicious!

  10. Siyabonga for everything, the underwater adventure, the morning trips to the bay, your help for the pictures of the fisherman! I’ll make sure I send you a copy of the magazine!

  11. Fantastic place. Wonderful staff. Wish we never had to leave. You made us feel so welcome. Thank you….. we will be back!!!

  12. Thank you for a wonderful stay! the place is beautiful, we were fantastically well looked after, the food was delicious!
    We enjoyed the hikes and the friendly tips from the staff. Kudos to South Africa for their conservation effort!

  13. Thanks so much, we really enjoyed our short stay. Would love to see before and after pics to see how you have transformed this place. Thanks again! xoxo

  14. Many thanks for your hospitality. The food was really nice especially the thai prawn curry! Kosi Bay is wonderful.
    Hope your improvements go well!

  15. Thanks for the brilliant time! I’ve never been anywhere like this in my life and I have found it amazing! The snorkelling was excellent and I hope one day I’ll have the chance to come back again! I still can’t believe this it’s winter!!! Thanks a lot!

  16. Thank you so much for being so welcoming. I’ve had an amazing time and would love to come back one day. The snorkelling and bech were definitely one of the highlights of my South Africa visit! Really a great and beautiful place to stay, thank you again!

  17. Thank you for a wonderful stay. Great food and we felt so welcomed and the camp is an amazing place.
    Kosi Bay is an amazing and lovely place. Today it felt like I was living the dream!!

  18. Thank you for the fabulous hospitality and wonderful scenery. We enjoyed our 3 day stay at Amangwane. Tommy is a great host and a great chef. We enjoyed all our meals, even the chicken liver :)
    A great place to relax and forget about all the stresses at home. We would gladly return again and highly reccommend to travellers.

  19. A wonderful experience and I now know that my winners will be happy this coming August. Thank you Tommy for all your help and interesting guiding.

  20. Thank you for the wonderful time. Your cooking is awesome, you should own a restaurant!
    Also the fish trap and canoeing and the drives. Hope we come back soon.
    Thanks for having us.

  21. We could have stayed much longer so easily – but have a schedule to keep!
    What more can you say but that Tom was a fabulous host, who cooked totally fantastic food (and we are discerning), imparted tons of knowledge and kept us safe and secure – many thanks

  22. A brilliantly fun and silly adventure. An exceptionally warm welcome. Staff, accommodation, and above all location without equal.
    I will be back.

  23. Tom, I cannot emphasize enough how beautiful and scenic it has been and I have experienced life time memories which have exceeded my expectations.
    Thank you for making our stay exceptional. Kosi bay is a paradise for one to achieve in their lifetime.

  24. All was absolutely fantastic, a pure paradise on your doorstep! Food was exceptional and I will never forget this place!
    Best wishes and love,

  25. Can’t believe it has taken me so many visits to KZN to discover Kosi Bay. Should be an absolute must on the itinerary of any visitor to South Africa.
    Thanks to all the team for great fun, great food and above all a great experience.
    Back soon!!!!!

  26. Life changing experience, no I feel like I have seen Africa properly.
    Staff, food, service, all exceptional.
    Can’t wait to come back.

  27. Thank you to Tommy and all your team for a brilliant stay in a brilliant part of the world. Great food and fantastic hospitality.

  28. This review came on Trip Advisor today

    “Kosi Bay June 2015”
    5 of 5 stars
    Reviewed 18/06/2015

    We stayed at Amangwane for three nights on a visit to Kosi Bay. The tents are basic and clean, the staff friendly and helpful, the kitchen well equipped and the area is beautiful.

    The accommodation is situated (conveniently) right at the entrance to Kosi Bay Mouth in a rural, lightly populated area. Your alarm clock in the mornings will be a call-mixture of roosters, fish eagles and nightjars.

    The tents are closely spaced (5-10m between adjacent tents), but we were the only occupied tent at the time.

    We took the kayak out on the lagoon, snorkelled in the shallow rock pools during low tide and visited Tembe Elephant Park.

    We had a good time!

    Reviewer requests name not be published

Leave a Comment